AACE Outstanding Service Awards 2018

A key aspect of the ALF is the awards dinner, a really good opportunity to network, socialise and of course, applaud this year’s award winners. Representing ambulance services from across the UK, award winners were selected for delivering outstanding service.

Whether an administrative role, clinical, welfare, managerial support services, these awards recognised the complexity of our organisations and the excellent work that is routinely delivered by so many.

As well as the winners, AACE would like to acknowledge all those whose were considered in the nominated categories and the assistance given by Trusts to short-list nominations.

Categories and the respective winners for 2018 were:


Rebecca Dawson – East of England Ambulance Service

Ashley Knights – East Midlands Ambulance Service

Specialist Paramedic
Tom Pullen – South East Coast Ambulance Service

EOC / Control Services
Andy Bell North – North East Ambulance Service

David Hankins – West Midlands Ambulance Service

Support Services
Dave Hill – Yorkshire Ambulance Service

Innovation and Change
Joanne Hammond – North West Ambulance Service

Stuart Crichton – London Ambulance Service

Welfare and Wellbeing
Kate Searles – South Western Ambulance Service

Paramedic Manager
Keiran Henry – National Ambulance Service of Ireland

Steven Short – Scottish Ambulance Service

Patient Transport Service
Joanne Rees-Thomas – Welsh Ambulance Service

The Team Award
Emergency Ambulance Control – Northern Ireland Ambulance Service

Mike Jukes – South Central Ambulance Service

Diversity and Inclusion
Alistair Gunn – Yorkshire Ambulance Service

Specialist Services
The NARU Education Team at the National Ambulance Resilience Unit

For more information about each winner and the reasons for their recognition, please contact the respective Ambulance Trust.